I’m Over You Today

You asked to leave the ballclub
So they traded you away.
I thought my heart was broken
But I’m over you today.

The guy they got to take your place
Can field as well as you,
And I can’t help but notice
That he’s hitting better, too.

The whole team’s playing baseball now
The way it should be played
All in all, I’m really glad
They dealt you in that trade.


This is about no particular player. It’s actually about how fans deal with having their favorite player(s) traded. Initially there’s some bad feelings but when the new guy does well, the love for the team overrides the love for the departed player. Especially guys who asked to be dealt. I heard someone on our local sports radio show say that “good play erases bad feelings” and that is very true.

Most fans of teams love the team more than any individual player. Which makes sense as players age and are replaced by the next generation. My father’s Dodgers aren’t the same team as is on the field now. Though if he were still alive, he’d root for them.

One Response to “I’m Over You Today”

  1. What a lovely poem, you have really great page here 🙂
    All the best
    Marinela x

Leave a comment